Search This Blog

Tuesday, 28 December 2021

News from ABSMIDS | First Postgraduate Alumni Meet Of The Department Of Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology And Oral Microbiology

The post-graduate program (MDS) with an intake of 2 seats was started in the Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology and Oral Microbiology of A B Shetty Memorial Institute of Dental Sciences in 1993. After 28 years, the department organized its first Postgraduate Alumni Meet on 17th December 2021 in blended mode, to connect with its alumni, reconnect them with their alma mater and celebrate their success and achievements.

The Alumni Meet began with invocation of God`s blessings by Prof. (Dr) Vinod KS followed by lighting of the lamp. Prof. (Dr.) Sreelatha S.V, Head of the department delivered the welcome address and thanked all the alumni for responding to the invitation and joining the event despite their busy schedule. The department report and university achievements were highlighted in her address.

The chief guest Mr. Vishal Hegde, Pro-Chancellor, Nitte (Deemed to be University) expressed his appreciation to the alumni for joining the meet and connecting with their alma mater. Former Principals, Founder Dean Prof (Dr.) N. Sridhar Shetty and Prof.(Dr.) B. Rajendra Prasad were the guests of honor. Pioneers of the department who held the position as departmental heads in the past - Prof. (Dr) Jagadish Padmanabha, Prof. (Dr) C.R.Ramachandran, Prof (Dr.) Ambika, Prof (Dr) S.E.Shroff and Prof (Dr.)Pushparaj Shetty were also present.

Scientific deliberation during this meet included Lectures by Prof. Dr Jagadish Padmanabha titled “An L-Plater for life”, “Oral Pathology a neural network in dental practice” by Prof. Dr. C R Ramachandran and “Importance of PCR in the modern era of dentistry” by alumna Dr Hanspal Singh. The post graduate curriculum was also discussed and suggestions made were noted. The mentor-mentee interactive session was followed by a Quiz competition.

Forty out of the total of forty-five alumni, participated in the program. They took a trip down memory lane and were happy to share their experiences and recollect old memories. Dr. Urvashi Shetty delivered the vote of thanks.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.